arrow-rightphonearrow-leftblog-icon cross arrow-upmapcalendararrow-downtranslate search email

Interactive Bar

Can’t find what your looking for ?

Translate / Traduire / Übersetzen / Tłumaczyć / Išversti / Tulkot / Traducir

School Logo


Primary School

Get In Touch


Welcome to our Governors’ section. 


Please find below details of how our Governing body is structured, including the names, categories, responsibilities and terms of appointment for each Governor.


The Governing Body at Hillmorton Primary School work very hard to support the the Headteacher and the staff on School Improvement and future development.


The Governing Body make decisions that they believe are in the best interests of the children and young people within our school community. Fulfilling the role of School Governor is a serious undertaking and enormously rewarding. It is responsible for the conduct of our School and promotes high standards of educational achievement.


It’s role is to provide a strategic view of the school, working with the Headteacher on establishing a strong vision for the future and identifying clear School Improvement priorities. Also, it monitors and evaluates the progress of the school by reviewing the effectiveness of school policy and the impact of our School Improvement strategy.


How our Governing Body Works:

The Governing Board works collectively as a ‘whole team’, meeting 6 times per year, once in each term, without any separate committees.  An annual planner and agenda for each meeting includes all the tasks which the Governing Board is required to consider, and the Governing board may ‘commission’ assignments or activities arising from the business of the meeting, which will be recorded in the minutes. Any ‘commissioned’ working groups will have Governing board drafted agreed terms of reference (which will be incorporated within this document) and will report any findings, actions or recommended decision to the Board at its next meeting. These reports will win turn inform collective strategic decision making by the Board. 


In addition to ‘commissioning’ activities or actions on their behalf, the Governing Board, to ensure its core functions are fulfilled, will delegate monitoring responsibilities to ‘individuals’ or pairs.  These include the Department for Education (DfE) identified as should have (unless there is a very good reason not to) individual roles and those focused on the priorities of the School Plan. 


The Governing Board recognises the delegated monitoring individuals/pairs are replacing committees in terms of challenge, responsibility and accountability when undertaking their monitoring and reporting back to the Board.  The Board recognises that all decisions are made by the full Governing Board and no financial delegated authority is given to monitoring pairs or individuals.  Meetings of the Board and delegated individuals/pairs will be considerate of the well-being of staff and Head teacher/SLT/Exec Head  by referring to the DfE teacher workload reduction toolkit.  


In each case where a function has been delegated there is a statutory duty for the delegated governor/s to report, by written monitoring reports, any findings, actions or recommended decisions to the Board in time for its next meeting to enable informed collective strategic decision making.   


The Board meets at least 6 times a year, considers monitoring reports and recommendations, makes decisions and conducts routine business.


If you wish to contact our Chair of Governors, you can do via the school office.


TypeTerm StartTerm EndsRoles




Personal Interests

Authority/Co-opted Governors

Julia KennyNov 2011March 2027Chair6/6

National Leader of Governance

Head of Governor Services for Warwickshire Local Authority


Governor at Temple Herdewyke Primary School

Derek WattsOct 2017Oct 2025 6/6School Improvement Advisor/Partner for Hillmorton Primary School and schools in Warwickshire, West Berkshire and Somerset
Debbie HibberdOct 2021Oct 2025 5/6Member of the School Improvement Team at Warwickshire Local Authority
Parent Governors
Julie HughesNov 2021Nov 2025Vice Chair5/6Parent of a child in Year 3
Sarah PayneNov 2021Nov 2025 6/6Parent of a child in Year 4
Staff Governors
Catherine CrispFeb 2007Oct 2027 4/6

Executive Head Teacher - Hillmorton Primary School


National Leader of Education - supporting schools across Coventry and Warwickshire

Bryony HarrisonSept 2018Oct 2027 6/6

Head Teacher - Hillmorton Primary School


Governor at All Saints CE Primary School - Coventry


Training Facilitator for Coventry and Central Warwickshire Teaching School Hub and Gateway Alliance

Samantha Saunders    Parent of children in Reception and Year 2




School Logo